// cannabis FAQ
Is Torrey Holistics now selling marijuana for Adult Use as well as Medical Use?
Yes, Torrey Holistics is very pleased to have been chosen by the state of California’s Bureau of Cannabis Control as the first dispensary in the state to be licensed to sell Adult Use cannabis. While we are thrilled to serve the adult community at large, we maintain our commitment to medical marijuana patients.
What should I bring with me if I want to purchase recreational marijuana?
You must be 21 years of age (or 18 and over with a medical card) and have a valid ID (driver’s license, passport, Federal ID card) to purchase cannabis products. Torrey Holistics accepts both cash and debit card.
How much marijuana can I purchase?
According to California law, the daily purchase limits for Adult Use customers are 28.5 grams of non-concentrated cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis or 6 immature cannabis plants. For medical patients, the daily purchase limit is 8 ounces of medicinal cannabis. If a patient’s valid physician’s recommendation contains an amount exceeding the daily limit, the patient may purchase the amount recommended by the physician.
Is it important to buy marijuana from a legal dispensary?
It is essential to purchase marijuana from a legal, licensed dispensary to ensure that the products you purchase are safe, lab-tested, and compliant with all California standards.
How can I get a medical card online?
You can obtain a valid medical marijuana card online from a variety of online providers. You can video conference with a doctor and have your medical card emailed to you. Having one of these medical cards will exempt you from the 5% city tax. Additionally, you may obtain the California State Medical Marijuana ID Card, which will further exempt you from the 7.75% state sales tax. You will need to visit your county department of public health by scheduling an in person visit to get this card.
What are the benefits of a medical marijuana card?
If you have a valid medical marijuana card, you can enter our dispensary through a medical priority line which is expedited ahead of recreational customers. We want to extend a little extra love to our medical patients so Torrey Holistics offers a 10% discount to our medical members. If you have a valid medical recommendation you also are exempt from the 5% cannabis business tax in San Diego. Additionally, if you obtain the county issued Medical Marijuana ID Card you will be exempt from the 7.75% state sales tax as well.
Does Torrey Holistics deliver?
Yes! You can place your order right here on our online menu, www.torreyholistics.com/menu. We offer free delivery within 20 miles. See delivery areas and minimum order size here: www.torreyholistics.com/
Can I buy online?
Currently, we do not ship online orders through any type of mail carrier or parcel service, but we do offer a local delivery service. To place an order, please visit www.torreyholistics.com/menu for our complete menu and ordering options. You can also order online and pick up your items in-store.
Now that Adult Use marijuana is legal, as a medical patient will I pay the same taxes as a recreational customer?
Based on the new rules and regulations that went into effect January 1, 2018, there are three types of taxes on recreational cannabis customers: a 15% State Excise Tax, a 7.75% State Sales Tax, and a 5% City Cannabis Tax. Because we want to extend a little extra love to our medical cardholders, Torrey Holistics offers a 10% discount for medical customers. Additionally, if you obtain the county-issued Medical Marijuana ID Card, you will be exempt from the 7.75% state sales tax. Patients with this medical card are still obligated to pay the San Diego city cannabis business tax.
Are medical patients subject to the same dosing restrictions as Adult Use customers after January 1, 2018?
According to California law, medical customers are able to purchase products with more milligrams of THC per package than Adult Use customers. The limit for MMIC cardholders is 2,000mg of THC per package and 1,000mg of THC per package for Adult Use customers.
What are your hours of operation?
Dispensary hours are:
Monday – Saturday: 7am-9pm
Delivery hours are:
7 days a week
10am to 8pm (last call 7:15pm)
What do I need in order to obtain a medical marijuana recommendation?
In order to obtain a medical marijuana recommendation you must be 18+ years old and be a California resident. You can not obtain a California medical marijuana recommendation if you are not a California resident.
What is considered a valid medical marijuana recommendation?
A medical marijuana recommendation is only valid if it is issued and signed by a licensed physician. The recommendation also must include a unique patient ID number, the date it is issued, and the date it expires. If the recommendation does not contain the required information, we cannot accept it as a valid medical recommendation.